Categories
Books/Media

TV Review: The Disastrous Life of Saiki K.

One day after I finished a series I was watching, this show, The Disastrous Life of Saiki was recommended to me. Watching the trailer, I was hooked and watched the whole first season. The show is not only hilarious but you learn a little about the powers he has. Telepathy, telekinesis, being psychic, and even though he acts like he doesn’t care about the people around him, he’s always helping them out of situations or using his powers for good.

Info on Show

Where I watched it: Netflix

  • Apple TV: $1.99
  • Netflix: Subscription
  • Amazon Prime: $1.99
  • Tubi: Free

First Impressions

I’ve been trying to get more into anime but I’m not sure what to watch so I was happy that I was recommended this series. Not only that but this show was right on brand with my interests; super powers! Other than that, I wasn’t sure what to expect with this show, the humor caught me completely off guard. I was literally bellying laughing at his remarks to the people around him, so much that I’d rewind it a few times, just to keep laughing. Saiki isn’t a kids show, I think teens could watching this but that’s it.

Creator

Shuichi Aso is the creator of this anime that was originally a manga and now a franchise that includes games, novels, an upcoming live-action film, and various other merchandise. When reading about his story, I was sad to find out the troubles he was coming across. He made some statements saying that he wasn’t paid for his ideas. He did say that his sales in manga increased but as a creator myself, I think he should be compensated for his idea. Without his ideas, there would be no show, no movie, no novel, no nothing. So it’s unfortunate that his not even seeing any royalties of the sort. Aso does mention that if he asks to be compensated, that he would be able to get paid but he doesn’t want to be a troublesome creator and only worry about the money. At least the creator is getting recognition for his work.

Intro

The first episode starts off with Saiki saving a dog by flying a car over its head. Then there’s a cut scene to when his a baby and telling starts to tell us about his parents and his powers. The parents seem so ditzy though, I love it because it gives the show a comedic value. What drew me into this show wasn’t even the actual first episode it was the trailer to the episode. A monotone voice describing what his first moments were as a baby, and saying that he walking on air at 6 months and completed his first errand at 1 years old?! Who wouldn’t watch a show like this. There’s 3 seasons and I just found out that there’s a new season out on Netflix. My most favorite aspect about this show is the knowledge about the different powers Saiki’s has. Another aspect I like is how level headed he is, any other person probably would’ve let all that power get to their heads but Saiki doesn’t.

Episodes

There’s 3 seasons, 24 episodes for season 1 and 2 but season 3 only has 2 episodes which are all 23 minutes long. I was hoping there were more seasons but I’ll take what I can honestly.

Final Thoughts

I wouldn’t recommend this show for kids, there is some adult content throughout the show, then again, there are some parents who let their kids watch Family guy and American Dad and this show is nothing like those shows. I honestly wasn’t expecting to like this show, this much. The comedic / sarcastic value really makes me relate to this show, and plus he has powers! What’s cooler than that?

By Anaya Thomas

Writing has always been my passion and even though we were always on again, off again, I finally feel like I found the sweet spot on what I want to say

Leave a comment